Paparico’s Mexican Restaurant

February 13, 2011 at 8:14 pm 12 comments

Finally. A great Mexican restaurant in my neck of the woods. I have long searched for a place closer to the Plaza/Brookside area that would satisfy my frequent cravings for enchiladas, carnitas, burritos and the like.

Hence my near euphoria after eating at Paparico’s Mexican restaurant. My husband and I went for breakfast one morning, though the owner Ismael (who goes by Papa Rico), offered to fix us anything on the menu if we had a few extra minutes. No need. There was more than enough to choose from on the breakfast menu, even for those who don’t like eggs, including tacos, pozole and even mole.

I had a breakfast burrito, stuffed with eggs and my choice of a long list of ingredients. I selected chorizo and potato, and out came a huge burrito smothered with ranchero sauce. If you like it mild, that might be the sauce for you, though it didn’t do much for me. I preferred the “House Red”, a homemade guajillo sauce that was as close to a New Mexican chile sauce as I’ve found in Kansas City. It shows up on several menu items, including cheese and onion enchiladas and pork tamales. We also had pork carnitas and al pastor tacos, listed as “Premium” tacos, though they were what is usually classified as a street taco. Not the typical American version with cheese and lettuce but, rather, simply topped with onion and cilantro and served with  chile de arbol and avocado jalapeno sauces. The sauces completed the dish, though the meats were little taste treats on their own.

In the morning  all of the entrees are served with refried beans and breakfast potatoes (perfect little chunks of crispness) instead of rice and beans. I wish they had a whole pinto or black bean alternative to the refried version, but that was really my only quibble with the place.

Be forewarned. If you want to wash your food down with a beer or margarita, you’re stuck with soda or juice until the liquor license application goes through, but Ismael is hopeful that it will happen soon. Since it was morning, I didn’t mind, but the flavorful salsa and chips will be even better with a beer in one hand.

This is a real family operation. Husband, wife, brother, and daughters, they are all incredibly hospitable and want nothing more than for you to enjoy your meal. If you want to tweak a dish, or devise your own combo, just ask and they will oblige. They cater and even deliver.  Ismael and his wife split the cooking, and share in the serving.  He insists on making certain sauces (and even the chips) himself, while she has her own complement of specialties. Ismael told me they make their own mole, so that’s a must try for my next visit, which I’ve already started plotting.

Paparico's on Urbanspoon

Entry filed under: restaurants. Tags: , .

Fiesta Azteca has moved to Lee’s Summit Room 39

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chris  |  February 13, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    You’ve said in this blog and on the radio many times that you don’t care for the Mexican places on the Southwest Blvd corridor. Which is understandable if you’re only talking about Ponak’s, Margarita’s or Manny’s. But what about Rico’s, El Huarache etc…surely you can’t lump those in with things like Manny’s.

    Reply
    • 2. Mary Bloch  |  February 13, 2011 at 10:03 pm

      You raise a good point, Chris. I haven’t been to every Mexican restaurant on SW Blvd, so I shouldn’t generalize, but for the most part I have been unimpressed. And to clarify, I’m talking about restaurants with a full menu, not like Rico’s which is essentially a taco place.

      El Huarache has been on my list of places to try for quite a while–I guess I should stop waiting for them to get their liquor license. I know my general bias comes from my love of Santa Fe and my quest to find comparable fare here, which is really impossible considering that the styles are quite different.

      I’ll get to El Huarache, and you give Paparico’s a try and then we can compare notes!

      Reply
  • 3. Brandon Stokes  |  February 14, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    I enjoyed Paparico’s during my visit as well. I was impressed with the food and different options on the menu. You do not find to many places that offer a good Mexican breakfast. I will be back.

    Just curious if you have tried Maggie’s in Lee’s Summit. I went there this past Friday and again for Dinner on Saturday. It was very good. I have read the Pitch review from last May ’10 and several others on Urbanspoon and Yelp. It is very different, What caught my eye was that Paparico’s and Maggie’s both offer Pazole and Mole. Two very “authentic” items. I reccomend Maggie’s and look forward to read what you think. I think that Maggie’s might be the most unique Mexican I have ever tried. No cheese sauces and they do not offer sour cream. Very small place no Mexican Decor, good stuff the chicken mole was my favorite thing.

    Reply
    • 4. Mary Bloch  |  February 14, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      I’ve heard mixed about Maggie’s, but I haven’t been yet– I’ll put it on my list. If you like the no cheese/sour cream type of Mexican restaurant, be sure to try Frida’s at 148th and Metcalf. Truly exceptional.

      Reply
  • 5. foodsnob  |  February 15, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Have you not been to Chelly’s (just around the corner on 85th by Paparico’s)????? IMHO, breakfast, lunch, dinner all a little better than Paparico’s-though Paparico’s isn’t bad. And, Dos de Oros is quite good as well.

    Reply
    • 6. Mary Bloch  |  February 15, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      I haven’t been to Chelly’s for years. I’ll give it another try and post my thoughts, thanks.

      Reply
  • 7. jdl  |  February 16, 2011 at 9:07 am

    i think paparico’s is much better than chelly’s. the only thing missing is a LIQUOR LICENSE! I am beginning to wonder if they’re really trying to get one… it’s been months.

    Reply
    • 8. Mary Bloch  |  February 16, 2011 at 9:50 am

      They told me last week that they are working on it, but you’re right, it is taking a long time.

      Reply
  • 9. archwild  |  February 18, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    Everyone reading this should try the Real Jalisco in Blue Springs on Hwy 7. It’s phenomenal food, and they promote unique fair thats not drowning in cheese. It has Fridas beat to pieces, and the prices are much more tolerable.

    Reply
    • 10. Mary Bloch  |  February 19, 2011 at 8:59 am

      I’ve heard that. Time to put it on my list!

      Reply
  • 11. ismael martinez  |  February 24, 2011 at 8:53 am

    thank you all for all your comments and your support. trully your. ismael martinez owner of paparicos.

    Reply
  • 12. Chelly’s Cafe « Around the BLOCK  |  March 19, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    […] writing about Paparico’s, and my excitement over discovering a Mexican restaurant I enjoyed in the Brookside/Waldo area, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Feeds


