Houston’s

August 18, 2009 at 6:24 pm Leave a comment

Food 008I’m not usually a fan of chain restaurants, but Houston’s feels different to me. Perhaps that’s because the food and service are consistently good. My only objection is that the prices are ridiculously high. When Houston’s first opened on the Plaza years ago, the grilled chicken salad was $7.50 and so enormous I often split it with my dining partner, or took some home to eat the next day. I went yesterday and that same salad was $13 and about half the size.  I always thought the ribs were expensive at $15, but now they are outrageously priced at $26!  But surprisingly, people still pack the place. We don’t go as often, but we still go, because I enjoy that salad, my kids love the ribs and fries, and my husband thinks the veggie burger is one of the best in town. (But don’t mistake these ribs for Kansas City’s finest–that honor goes to our homegrown BBQ joints.)

Hard to believe the recession hasn’t forced Houston’s to lower its prices. Maybe it still will.

Houston’s on the Plaza

(816) 561-8542

Houston's on Urbanspoon

Entry filed under: restaurants. Tags: , , .

Coffee Girls Friday Food Critics 8/21

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Feeds


